2017 TV Renewals & Cancellations And The 22 We Care About

IMDB has run up a huge list of TV series renewals and cancellations which I’ve linked below.  I thought I’d pluck a few out that we care about and blithely ignore the boring ones. Since this post will be based on my discussion on the topic with Arkayde, my -cough- better half, I’ll faithfully relay his opinions on the topic where relevant. There are a few on this list that I haven’t mentioned that we also do care about:

Sense8 and Marco Polo for example though there are bound to be others. The first we’ll have to wait for news on, though their second season was just released on Netflix. I’m sad to say that Marco Polo was canceled. That was a damn good series. Damnit.

 

 

Santa Clarita Diet

Santa Clarita Diet will be back. No big surprise there. Netflix delivered a solid piece of wacky comedy with that one and I have yet to hear from anyone who didn’t like it. Good job Drew Barrymore and Timothy Olyphant.

The X-Files

We’re getting a new season of The X-Files after some hemming and hawing from FOX (they didn’t announce it until April when these things usually happen in May or sooner). I’m kinda meh about this. I wasn’t too sold on the first revival season. Scully was in fine form as usual and looking amazing. We should all be that lucky. Mulder though. I’m sorry, it felt a bit like the Scully show with stop-time clay Mulder puppet. Ark, on the other hand, says he enjoys it despite being a bit flawed. But full disclosure prompts me to say that my significant other has always been a huge X-Files nerd. I mean the only one whose babies he wants more than Picard’s are Mulders.

(“Ark’s edit: I liked your post except for the part about Mulder’s look. That was a little petty… In fact I would have enjoyed your article a lot more but for that insult” Isn’t he precious??)

Arrested Development

Arrested Development is getting a long-anticipated fifth season on Netflix, starting in 2018. Well, I say long anticipated but that’s more Ark’s thing than mine. I’ve never really found them that amusing. I’m told this is because my soul hates bunnies and sunshine. This is untrue. I love rabbit stew and I just have to be careful about applying sunblock! Also, there are no such things as souls.

Criminal Minds. Who are these people? I only recognize JJ!

Criminal Minds has been renewed for a 13th season on CBS. I haven’t kept up with the show as much as I’ve wanted to. It’s best taken in little binges here and there and then you lose memory of which cast members have been replaced and why. Let’s just say that if Mandy Patinkin was the reason you started watching the show it usually isn’t why you stay. It brings to mind a Terry Pratchett quote which may or may not apply, depending on how good the last season was. I’ll leave that up to you to judge:

“This, milord, is my family’s axe. We have owned it for almost nine hundred years, see. Of course, sometimes it needed a new blade. And sometimes it has required a new handle, new designs on the metalwork, a little refreshing of the ornamentation . . . but is this not the nine hundred-year-old axe of my family? And because it has changed gently over time, it is still a pretty good axe, y’know. Pretty good.”
― Terry Pratchett, The Fifth Elephant

Criminal Minds: Beyond Borders. Beyond filming more like, hurfdurf

Criminal Minds: Beyond Borders has been mercifully canceled by CBS. I love Criminal Minds but these offshoots have all been painful. STAHP EET!

Elementary

CBS did renew Elementary for a sixth season, which I have yet to watch, I fear, but I know some of you are big fans. I will get around to giving this series a go once the romance with Cumberbatch and Freeman wears off for me. It might be a while yet though on that score.

The Blacklist Redemption. (More like Redumption, amirite? I’ll stop now)

NBC canceled The Blacklist Redemption a spin-off of their so-so FBI tale Blacklist with James Spader and diverse inconsequential others. Was it just Ark and me who thought the character of Tom Keen should have died in season 1? Preferably along the lines of molten gold poured over his head TV death? I’d have watched that. Anyways. It’s gone. Cya.

Blacklist. AKA The Spader Show

On the other hand, they did renew Blacklist for its fifth season with another whopping 22 episodes. I admit I’ve fallen behind on watching this despite my unwholesome fascination with watching James Spader deliver soliloquies. But perhaps the FBI in this tale of tragic mistakes have started to pick up on some basic policing. I hope Ressler gets it soon though. That dude drives me to chew on the remote in annoyance. Hey, you want to watch a great Spader movie? Find a copy of the original Stargate movie with him and Kurt Russel. Damn fine stuff!

Blindspot. There it is. That’s the look.

In other thankful NBC news, Blindspot was renewed for a third season. Boo! Ark yells from the kitchen but he doesn’t get it, does he? I mean it’s the way the camera zooms in on Jaimie Alexander and Sullivan Stapleton looking with pain filled longing at each other. Who cares if the plot is weird and messy? – Aggie proving beyond a shadow of a doubt that there is no such thing as a consistent or unbiased reviewer! Anyway, I enjoy it so neener!

Sleepy Hollow. I Abjure Thee And All Thy Wachamacallits

Just to prove to my darling Arkayde that he has similar blindspots (ahahah… – cough- ), Sleepy Hollow initially attracted us for much the same reasons. We were charmed by Tom Mison and Nicole Beharie. Buuut, even those two sweetie pies couldn’t sell us that batch of religio-nuttery and it appears that FOX has given up on pushing it too as it was canceled on May 9. Ah well. Maybe now we can have those two in a decent series instead.

The Walking Colony Of Lost

Colony was renewed. Again I, unlike Ark who likes the series just fine,  was a bit meh on the show despite enjoying both Sarah Wayne Callies and Josh Holloway on The Walking Dead and Lost respectively.

Me: “Oh stop it, she was fine as Lori!”

Him: “No she wasn’t…”

Dear The Walking Dead. Not ‘of the’, Aggie. There’s no ‘of the’ in that title!

Fear of the Walking Dead was renewed for a fourth season ahead of its season three launch and I’m happy about that. I guess I can’t get enough of unexplained zombie plagues. Alright, maybe it’s because they have such a great cast, which they do! Also, the characters seem a lot more normal than the epic group of the main show.

Once Upon a Time. Uhh.. thx IMDB, spoiler alert, I guess she marries Hook then?

Once Upon a Time was renewed by ABC for a seventh season and I’m sure nobody is surprised about this. In other completely random news, did you know that the Wheel of Fortune has been on TV for 36 years now? Imagine that. It’s also been renewed by the way!

Anyway, I’m sure Disney can come up with more mangled fairytales to give the OUAT writers something to write about.  Despite that bit of snark, I’m fine with admitting this is one of my go-to series when I’m feeling particularly girly and chocolate craving. So it totally serves a purpose on TV, even if that purpose isn’t to deliver great writing. Mind you with Allison Morrison’s announced departure from the show and a future focus on Andrew Wilson‘s character of Henry and Alison Fernandez‘ character of Lucy, I’d not be taking big bets on many future renewals.

Agents of Shield (Season 4)

From the same network, we also get the much relieving (and a little surprising) news that Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. was renewed for a fifth season. I fangasmed over that elsewhere on the blog but overall Ark and I are extremely happy about this decision. /Pat pat who’s a good network board of directors or whatever?!

American Gods. I heard you can find bootleg versions of Gaiman reading his entire book on youtube. You shouldn’t play those! :o)

Starz quickly saw the Gaiman writing on the wall with their new explosively popular adaptation of aforementioned’s bestselling title American Gods and promptly renewed the sucker like the smart little boys and girls they are. Thank you for that, looking forward to more. Just bankroll the whole shabang, peeps, you know you’re gonna anyway. Don’t leap into it. It’s a big decision and you should think about it. But you’re going to do it anyways. Also something I’ve banged on about elsewhere. You can read it by following this link.

Gotham

FOX renewed their Batman – The Early Years series Gotham for a fourth season and that made me feel sort of guilty. Our initial enthusiastic interest petered out when (not) Commissioner Gordon turned into a crook all of a sudden. I’m all for shaking things up but you don’t saw off the mainstays of your story. Batboy and the Butler were always good to watch as was the Penguin (pictured above) so maybe we’ll return. Older seasons of the show are on Netflix so we do have the option.

iZzzzznorefest

While neither Ark nor I was terribly impressed with iZombie I know it has a few fans among you so you’ll be happy to know it was renewed for a fourth season. Please feel free to comment below if the series got better after the first few episodes. If so we might give it another chance one day. Mind you the plot and dialogue would have to take a gigantic leap to overcome the premiere’s overall predictive blah.

The Handmaid’s Tale

A mere week after debuting Hulu renewed The Handmaid’s Tale for a second season. I admit I haven’t watched it yet though I intend to. I just need to work up to it and store up some emotional buffer before I’m ready for a show that is likely to be as feel-good as The Walking Dead. This is no criticism of either show (or book) I just don’t have enough emotional reserves to dissolve into tears several times a week.  Still good on the show for doing well with this dystopian SciFi. Remember lads, this is the future we’ll fight you to prevent from happening. Not the other way around. I bet Trump and his cronies watches that show the way I watch Once Upon a Time or Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D… Hail Hydra. ><

Into The Badlands

AMC’s Into the Badlands was renewed. I wasn’t sold on the dialogue and plot but Ark fell in love with the visual art style and the fighting scenes. Maybe I’d just hit my dystopian quota. It happens and Walking Dead and Fear do eat up a lot of that quote (see what I did there?). Also, am I the only who can’t read ‘AMC’s’ without hearing it pronounced in Epic Voice Guy -voice?

Note how it’s helpfully written on the photo.

CBS renewed the MacGuyver revival. It doesn’t say why anywhere though. As two-bit revivals go that one was how I’d always imagined a KNightrider revival would be. Empty and soulless with brain-stabbingly bland dialogue. But yeah, ok then. I’m sure Richard Dean Anderson isn’t puking everytime he sees any bits of it. Mind you it must be hard to act a role knowing your audience are all shouting “I don’t have to listen to you! You’re not the real MacGuyver!” at their screens.

A Series of Unfortunate Events

Less than a month after  A Series of Unfortunate Events aired on Netflix it was renewed for a second season on Netflix and then extended to a third. Turns out when you base TV on good writing you have success. Whaddyo know?! We’re both of course very happy with this and wish Neil Patrick Harris all the good things in life (if not in the show. Because he’s a mean, mean bad guy!).

The Expanse

SyFy wisely renewed The Expanse, a SciFi show that is widely lauded as the best SciFi on TV at present based on the writing duo James SA Corey’s book series of the same name. (Which are also terrifically good. Except for the third one which is bad). Apropos basing TV off good books.  It is not currently on Netflix but one can hope it will show up there one day for those of you still on the fence.

Legion

And in that same vein, Legion was renewed on FX for a second season of the weirdest superhero story on TV. Get your bongs ready people, you know what to do! I may have carried on in an unwholesome manner about that show elsewhere on the blog. Do have your speakers plugged in if you visit that page! Huzzah for Dan Stevens and Aubrey Plaza.

 

Sources:

IMDB: 2016-17 TV Season: Renewed and Canceled

JustJared

ABC News: 13 Things You Didn’t Know About ‘Wheel of Fortune’

Wikipedia: Wheel of Fortune

Goodreads

Variety

Let's talk!

